VINTAGE BOOKS AND BEST READS

Standard

Have you revisited your bookshelves lately? Maybe you have some books packed away in boxes, stored away in backs of closets. Well today i decided to sift through some of my many, that i had tucked away in giant boxes. I smiled at my text books from undergrad years. You know…the ones you saved because you were sure they would come in handy.That you were sure would need to revisit and use as a guide. I’ll be honest, its been 13 yrs and i never did! ….. Revisit i mean…Until now. I actually enjoyed turning the pages of one i used in one of my favorite class with my favorite teacher, Professor Holody. Social Work Process 6th Edition published 1999. Wow!…so much has changed but much remains the same. Data collection, good social work practice, writing letters on behalf of clients, predictions of where social work is headed and values and ethical practice, which by the way, is always good to be reminded of. Really good stuff that made me happy i opened that book. 

Okay! okay! So it wasn’t just all work. There was some suggested in school that were related to life and decisions, but were not text books. I really think you will appreciate these reads and may even be able to relate to some. here are 4 i came across and recommend.

Don’t say you have no time to read. I’ve said it too but i have been making sure i read at least three chapters a week. More if life allows. On the bus, the train, doctors office while i wait, waiting for my son while he finishes practice.. You deserve a few hours shut out everything around you and jump into a good book . I’m Okay You’re Okay, Tuesdays With Maurie, Who Moved My Cheese, The Second Shift                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

I recommend for everyone( Not Just the social workers), to “REVISIT YOUR BOOKS”  Please respond to this post and share some of your finds or books you think we would enjoy.

HAPPY SIFTING!!                                                                                                                                                    

 

 

 

    

 

4 thoughts on “VINTAGE BOOKS AND BEST READS

  1. Marian

    Reading for fun and relaxation is something that I have not made time for lately! However, if I could reread two books, they would be The Center Cannot Hold: My Journey Through Madness by Elyn Saks and An Unquiet Mind by Kay Redfield Jamson. The first book is about a successful professor’s struggle with schizophrenia during her young adult years. This book is gripping and incredibly well-written and enlightening. I really felt as though I was getting a peek into what it is like to live with schizophrenia. The second book is another autobiography of mental illness–this time it is bipolar disorder. Jamison does a great job of demonstrating the internal struggle that many clients face when making a decision regarding medication. Both of these books are great for transporting oneself into the mind of another and are great tools for beginning to learn about schizophrenia and bipolar disorder beyond what can be found in a textbook.

    • Thank you for your feedback and for adding more books to my list. Of course i will not be able to restrain my self from making the purchase of the first two (under cover Nerd shhhh!). LOL. I have the unquiet mind in my book shelf and definitely was intrigued.
      Great picks!

Leave a Reply

