SIMPLE PLEASURES

Standard

What have you done for yourself lately that resulted in you unconciously smiling or  realizing you had a silly grin on your face. Its that thing that you did for you that just made your heart and your steps feel light.
Today after getting up at 6 am to do laundry and running next door to the gym while they wash, then running back to throw them in the dryer then back next door, I headed to Costo. (Had to get there as soon as the
door open so didn’t have to deal with the crowd). While in Costco, I saw some beautiful sunflowers ( sprayed pink). I promised myself a year ago that every time I received a paycheck, I would buy fresh cut flowers as I love to see them on my table or my dresser. I never followed through as whenever I looked at the prices I just thought ” they are going to die fast for all that money.” Today though, I kept looking, picking them up and putting them back down. Next thing I know, I was pushing my cart back to my car looking at my sunflowers with a silly grin on my face. I kid you not as I am writing this post, I am smiling. I rushed home. Got the kids to do the unpacking while I grabbed the windex for the glass dinning table, cleaned it down and polished the Wooden floor of the dinning area, to a nice shine. Then the came the moment that immediately brought the smile back to my lips. Filling the vase with water. Getting a whiff of the scent of my flowers and gently placing each steam in a specific order where I can see them from all angles. Then saying out loud. Simply beautiful, SIMPLE PLEASURES, because I deserve to smile ☻.
What is your simple pleasure/s. Do share.

image

13 thoughts on “SIMPLE PLEASURES

  1. Raya Robinson

    I don’t know right now the last thing I did to make myself smile, but I did clean the house the other day and it made me feel good. I said when I moved in that I was going to keep flowers on my table and outside of the first time I have not done it. Its time to take a que from you and do the same.

    • It is a great feeling when you sit back take in both visually and by scent, a clean fresh house. Its not my intentiin to minimize that feeling, but because that is probably a weakly routine, Im going to say, try to follow through on yiur plans with the flowers at least once before the summer end. I bet you will enjoy that silly grin the way I did 😆

  2. Marian

    This is so sweet! Sometimes the simplest things give us the most joy 🙂 For me, sitting on a park bench and people watching is sometimes the most interesting (and entertaining) on a lazy summer day.

  3. kamilah

    I agree with tiff.sitting by water makes my great content.i feel as though everything I’m stressed about goats away in the dirty soothing Hudson our east river. I imagine i live in the fancy high rise buildings and fantasize about a life i will eventually have.it makes me happy inside.I’m at peace.i watch everyone in thirty own world and thoughts.although we are separate we share the water. That’s my simple pleasure

  4. Leroy Dawson

    Here’s a few tips to make your flowers last longer. http://www.gardenista.com/posts/tried-and-tested-can-you-make-fresh-flowers-last-longer

    On Jun 22, 2014 3:23 PM, “thesocialworkarchives” wrote: > > thesocialworkarchives posted: “What have you done for yourself lately that resulted in you unconciously smiling or realizing you had a silly grin on your face. Its than thing that you did for you that just made your heart and your steps feel light. Today after getting up at 6 to” >

Leave a Reply

